Inviting People to Collaborate on a Project
In VeryBusy, you can invite people to collaborate on projects in the following roles, depending on the permissions they have within the project:
Manager: can manage project settings, people, permissions, and assets. Has full sharing capabilities, can assign assets and access the project overview metrics. * Requires a workspace manager seat.
Editor: can upload rounds, manage assets, leave feedback and share via email only.
* Requires a workspace editor seatReviewer: can comment, markup, approve, and rate assets. Download, first-round upload, and comment visibility only if enabled.
* Always free and unlimited.
👉 Learn more about Roles and Permissions here.
Ways to Invite People to a Project
You can invite collaborators via email or public link, depending on the level of security and ease of access you want collaborators to have.
When you're ready to invite someone to a project: Click the "Share Project" Button.
1. Invite via Email (Account Required)
Users invited via email will receive a project invite email and they must create an account to access the project.
This is the most secure method, access is tied to the user's account.
Projects to which they have been invited will show up in their dashboard.
How to:
Under "Invite People", enter the email addresses or groups.
Select their role (Manager, Editor, or Reviewer) depending on the permissions they need.
Click Invite to send.
✅ The invitees will receive an email with a link to the project. New users will be prompted to create an account before joining.
2. Invite via Public Link (No Account Required)
The benefit of this route is that the collaborators to which you send this type of invite do not need to create an account in verybusy.io.
Project Owners or Managers can choose to enable Public Sharing.
Project Owners or Managers can customize what Reviewers on this link can do:
Download permissions
First-round (R0) uploads
Comment visibility for previous rounds
Learn more about managing permissions for share links here.
People who join the project via link can be managed from People's tab.
Ideal for quick feedback from clients or external stakeholders.
How to:
Under "Share Link Invite", project owners and managers (only) can enable the public link by toggling it on. Sharing links are disabled by default when the project is created.
Click "Copy Link" and send it to anyone you'd like to invite. They will access the project according to the link's type.
Link Options
There are two link options that determine the permissions and visibility the collaborators will have when accessing the project.
Reviewer Link: for people who need to actively participate, leaving comments, markups, ratings, and approvals, without needing an account. For more information about the Reviewer public link, check out this article.
View Only Link: for people who just need to see the work, without commenting or marking it up. Learn more: How to Share View-Only Access to a Project.
✅ After entering the project, these users can optionally create a free account if they want:
Projects will appear on their own Project Dashboard (instead of relying on the link).
Ability to receive notifications about project updates.
Easier navigation between projects.
Profile management.
Important: What Happens if You Disable a Public Link?
If a public link is disabled, no new people can join the project via that link.
However, people who previously accessed the project using the link will still retain access, unless you manually remove them from the People tab.
To fully revoke someone's access: disable the public link and remove them from the People tab.
